Hilary Hahn – Retrospective

Deutsche Grammophon, 2018

Retrospective is a collection of new and old tracks. It begins with new live recordings from a concert Hahn held at the Meistersaal in Berlin in May 2016. The pieces are Mozart’s Violin Sonata in G major K379, Tina Davidson’s Blue Curve of the Earth and Max Richter’s Mercy. As for the rest of the album, it consists of excepts from Hahn’s previous recordings that, as she points out in the booklet notes, have been personally selected by her.



Read our review

1. Mozart, Sonata For Piano And Violin In G Major, K.379-1a. Adagio (Live)
2. Mozart, Sonata For Piano And Violin In G Major, K.379-1b. Allegro (Live)
3. Mozart, Sonata For Piano And Violin In G Major, K.379-2. Tema (Andantino cantabile) – Var. 1-5 – Tema (Allegretto) (Live)
4. Davidson, Blue Curve Of The Earth (Live)
5. Richter, Mercy (Live)
6. J.S. Bach Double Concerto For 2 Violins, Strings, And Continuo In D Minor, BWV 1043-2. Largo ma non tanto
7. Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending
8. Mozart Sonata for Piano and Violin in A, K.526-3. Presto
9. Paganini Violin Concerto No.1 in D, Op.6-3. Rondo (Allegro spirituoso)
10. Schoenberg Violin Concerto, Op.36-1. Poco Allegro
11. J.S. Bach St. Matthew Passion, BWV 244 Part Two-No.51 Gebt mir meinen Jesum wieder
12. Higdon Violin Concerto-1726
13. Ives Sonata For Violin And Piano No.1-1. Andante-Allegro vivace
14. Hahn Godot
15. Yun When A Tiger Meets A Rosa Rugosa
16. Muhly Two Voices
17. Vieuxtemps Violin Concerto No.4 In D Minor, Op.31-2. Adagio religioso