Joan Sutherland – Love Live Forever

Joan Sutherland, soprano

Ambrosian Light Opera Chorus
(Chorus master: John McCarthy)
New Philharmonia Orchestra
Richard Bonynge

Decca, (1967) 2016


Joan Sutherland sings songs and arias from some of the most popular operettas.

Disc 1:
  1. Romberg, The Student Prince: Deep in My Heart, Dear
  2. Rodgers, The Boys from Syracuse: Falling in Love with Love
  3. Romberg, The Desert Song: Desert Song
  4. Kern, Music in the Air: And Love Was Born
  5. Friml, Rose Marie: Indian Love Call
  6. Herbert, The Only Girl: When You’Re Away
  7. Kern, Show Boat: Make Believe
  8. Fraser-Simpson, The Maid of the Mountains: Love Will Find a Way
  9. German, Tom Jones: Waltz Song
  10. Offenbach, La Périchole: Ô Mon Cher Amant
  11. Massenet, Chérubin: Air de Nina
  12. Zeller, Der Vogelhändler: Schenkt Man Sich Rosen Im Tirol
  13. Millöcker, The Dubarry: The Dubarry


Disc: 2

  1. Fall, Medley
  2. Lehár, Eva: War Es Auch Nichts Als Ein Traum Von Gluck
  3. Straus, Ein Walzertraum: Leise, Ganz Leise
  4. Heuberger, Der Opernball: Im Chambre Séparée
  5. Strauss, Casanova: Nuns’ Chorus
  6. Lehár, Die Lustige Witwe (The Merry Widow): Vilja-Lied
  7. Kreisler, The King Steps Out: Stars in My Eyes
  8. Strauss, The Chocolate Soldier: My Hero
  9. Posford, Balalaika: Cossacks’ Song: At the Balalaika
  10. Lehár, Paganini: Love Live Forever


Recording location: Kingsway Hall, London, March & July 1966

This recording is also included in Joan Sutherland’s Complete Decca Studio Recital